Why Consider iPad Private Browsing

Why do you need iPad Private Browsing and how can you implement iPad Private Browsing today?

iPad Private Browsing

When using an Apple iPad, the device automatically stores all the information searched on the Internet browser. This means every website visited, every Internet search performed, and all other content is saved into the cache of the Safari Web browser.

While this comes as a standard feature on the Apple iPad, it does not necessarily need to remain. For example, if you share your iPad with your children or other family members, you might want to keep what you look up the secret. Perhaps you are buying a gift online, and you do not want them to see what you are shopping for.

There are other times where you might need to look up content you do not think would be appropriate for your child. Regardless of what you are looking for or the information you do not want other iPad users to see, the best way to prevent this is to alter your browser for private browsing. This way, only you know what you are looking up. So, why do you need to learn about iPad Private Browsing?

Why Browsing is Recorded and What is Private Browsing

Browsing isn’t explicitly recorded on the Apple iPad or other computer systems, for that matter. Whenever you visit a website, the website is stored in the history of your system.

This is so it is easier to access different websites later on. After visiting the website, your device has downloaded the necessary information to view the content. The next time you visit the website, it loads faster due to this. Of course, it also helps when you cannot remember the website you visited previously or even a few days ago.

With browsing stored, you never have to worry about not remembering this information ever again. Of course, there are times where you do not want the content saved at all. Thankfully with the Apple iPad, you can perform Google private and Apple private searches. It is a relatively straightforward procedure if you have ever wondered how to do private browsing on an iPad.

You can also turn the recording browsing back on in the same manner. So, no matter which version of the Apple iPad you currently own, you can utilize this particular feature and turn it off and on the recording browsing.

What iPad Private Browsing Affects

Private browsing affects everything you look up when using the Internet browser on the Apple iPad. This means no matter the website you visit; it does not appear in the search field the next time you open the browser.

The device also does not record search engine content either. This way, if you are searching for a particular topic, the product you want to purchase, or anything else, no matter what you type into a search engine such as Google, is no longer recorded.

Also Read: What is content://com.android.browser.home/?

While in private browsing mode, it is going to block certain tracking cookies from websites. A tracking cookie is a standard feature on websites designed to track other websites you visit. The cookie can inform the other website, and it can tailor your Internet experience.

This means it is more likely to display specific advertisements or alter the content that appears on the website’s front page. This is no longer an option in private browsing mode, so you do not have a tailor-made user experience.

How Do You Know Private Browsing is Activated

After you turn on private browsing, you might forget you turned it on. There are times where you want to avoid this and turn private browsing off. For example, if you are shopping for a gift and the person you are shopping for sees you are in private browsing mode, they will likely ask why this is the case.

To avoid this sort of situation altogether, the Apple iPad has an easy to notice indicator, so you do not have to worry about forgetting whether or not what mode you are in. While in private mode, the border of the Safari Internet browser turns black. When you exit private browsing mode, this black border is turned off.

Steps to Turn On Private Browsing

To start, you first need to open up the Safari browser. Once the application is open, select the Web address located at the very top of the screen. After selecting the area, to not type in anything, though. Instead, you want to choose the “Private” button that loads on the keyboard. It appears right above the “Q” letter on the keyboard.

Once you have selected the “Private” option, you will be asked to close out all of your tabs, either keep all of the tabs open or cancel the process. You want to close all of the open tabs, so it focuses specifically on the individual window that is open. Once you have selected this, private browsing is activated and ready for all of the different tabs you open after this process.

When you want to turn private browsing off, you need to perform the same task, as you need to push the Web address on the top of the screen, then choose to turn off private browsing, which appears in a small button right above the “Q” letter again. Again, this particular process works with iOS 7 and later.

Previous Versions of iOS

If you are using a previous version of the Apple iPad operating system, you need to turn private browsing on and off in a slightly different way. To do this, open up the Settings icon on the screen.

Once the new window loads, scroll down to the bottom and look at the left side of the display window until you see “Safari.” From here, choose “Safari” and wait for the Internet browser settings to load onto the screen. Now, check “Private Browsing” to either “On” or “Of.”

This will not have the same display and reminder features as the current version of iOS, so once you exit the Web browser, you are not going to see a black window around the app or the screen.

Disable Cookies

To increase your private browsing experience even further on the Apple iPad, you need to disable cookies. Although going into just standard “Private” mode will disable some cookies, it is not going to prevent all of the cookies from opening and loading onto your device.

To turn off the cookies completely (note that some websites may not load entirely onto the screen when you are doing this), you need to select the Settings icon on the iPad screen, then scroll down until you find the “Safari” option.

Now select “Safari” and move down to the Privacy and Security feature. Next, you want to change the “Block Cookies” option to “Always.” Three different options appear, though, including the “Always,” “Never,” and “From third parties.” Next, select “Do Not Track” to prevent websites from tracking your Internet movement in the same section. Finally, you probably also want to remove the cookies and data stored on your device from previous Internet searches.

Also Read: Is Tor Safe To Use?

To do this, you need to locate the buttons at the bottom of your Safari settings and choose to clear them out. Do note, though, that this will remove your saved username and password information from all Internet-based accounts on your device, including Facebook, Twitter, and other social media accounts.

View Your History

If you have ever wondered how you can view the history of your mobile iPad, it is relatively easy to do. First, while the Safari browser is open, tap the book button located at the top of the application window.

Now, in the menu, you are going to find a “History” drop-down option. From here, you want to choose the feature, and you can see all of the previous websites visited on the iPad. But, of course, if you or another user has cleared out the browsing history, you will not see anything displayed on the screen at all.

Change Features

There are a few different features you can change with your Safari browser and what you keep private. You can first change the default search engine Safari uses. While Google is the standard search engine feature, you can convert to Yahoo! or Bing, should you desire. You can also turn on or off the “AutoFill” feature.

This automatically types in specific information you might have saved, ranging from your username and password to credit card information. All of this is important to consider when deciding what you want to keep blocking out or what you want to remain private.

When using the Apple iPad, it is possible to go into private viewing mode. This way, other users cannot see the content you have searched, what you have looked up on search engines, and the available material you view while using the iPad.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here